The cloak of God

I’ve had to think about this – and pray about it – for a while before I posted it.

June 24, 2013

A song about the train of his robe filling the temple was running through my mind as I prayed last night.

Suddenly I saw the Lord Jesus standing at the Father’s throne in heaven, wearing and flipping back the edges of a long, wide black cloak. He smiled as I took note of that cloak.

What on earth!? I said. I knew it was Jesus, but he certainly wasn’t dressed in the kind of robes I would associate with him in heaven.

What do you know about cloaks, he asked?

Cloaks. Hmmm. I started to think about that. Before I could answer, He went on to explain cloaks.

Cloaks have many uses. Of course they can be used as coats, that’s how many people use them.

Some people wear a cloak as a symbol of power, authority, political standing or social standing. They can strike terror in people’s hearts, or awe, reverence and respect.

They can be quite plain such as this one, he said, flicking up the hem of the cloak. They can be elaborately decorated, like potentates such as Queen Elizabeth of England wears.

They have practical uses. They can be used as saddles if you need to ride a horse or donkey, or camel. It’s not comfortable to ride a horse without some covering.

They can serve as a container for goods and belongings, like a suitcase.

Cloaks offer protection from the elements, such as rain or cold. They can be used as blankets for sleep. As tents to provide warmth in the night. Shelters to provide shade in the desert. Roofs for foxholes. They can keep you clean from dirt and grime, from the ground or the air.

Cloaks can conceal you, hide what you have, or what you have on underneath. They can hide filth. Weapons.

Cloaks can be disguises. Make you look like one thing when you’re really something else. Joshua (9:4-5) discovered that when Gibeonites showed up wearing old, worn-out clothes of pretense to deceive Israel.

Cloaks can serve as camouflage and hide you, so that you blend into your environment. That can be good or bad. Con men wear cloaks. So do warriors. So does Satan. So do demons.

Some cloaks are physical. Some are spiritual.

My cloak contains life. My presence. My Word. Tools. Equipment. Weapons. Provisions. Guidance. Instruction. Comfort. Companionship. Everything you will ever need!

My cloak is like the cloud that Israel followed. It was black on one side, white on the other. The enemy saw dark, but Israel saw light. (Exodus 14) They were led by the cloud. They were protected from the elements and from their enemies by the cloud.

Sadly, some in Israel were born with the cloud and had never known anything else. They got used to it. It was so familiar, they took it for granted. They grew up expecting the cloud they could see to always be there.

Some people are like that today, they have become so complacent, they take my cloak for granted but they never give it to others. They never share it.

So, share it.

This morning I thought about every second of that encounter. While the outside of that cloak was black, I realized that inside the cloak Jesus himself was blazingly brilliant, clothed in glory, in life. Like the cloud. Like the fire.

He had showed me that sometimes he opens that cloak a little when he wants his people to feel his presence. To know, to KNOW, that he is present.

He can’t reveal himself fully, his presence would destroy us. But he will reveal more and more of his manifest presence, as we truly seek him. As we truly desire his presence.

Jesus wasn’t pushy, or loud when he spoke, just matter of fact. But me! I was so touched by his presence!

And changed.

One thought on “The cloak of God

Leave a Reply

