The Anointing

Lord, what is the anointing?

“If you need to hammer a nail, I hand you the hammer, then my hand on your hand, together we hammer the nail. My hammer, handed to you, my hand on your hand wielding the hammer – that’s the anointing.

“If you need to saw a board, I hand you a saw, then my hand on your hand, together we saw the board. My saw, handed to you, my hand on your hand wielding the saw – that’s the anointing.

“If you need to preach a sermon, I inspire in you the sermon, then my words in your voice, together we preach the sermon. My words, inspired in you, my words spoken through your voice – that’s the anointing.

“If you need to love the unlovable, I impart to you my love, then my love in your heart, together we love the unlovable. My love, imparted to you, my love flowing out of your heart – that’s the anointing.”

Oh, wow. How simple. How wonderful.

So, when the Lord gives you an assignment – hammer a nail, preach a sermon, whatever – he hands you the tools to do it and works with you as you work. Sometimes you physically feel it when the anointing of the Holy Spirit begins. It may feel like a flow of adrenaline, a fit of nerves, or the shakes.

God is handing you the tools you need. Enabling you. Don’t be afraid. Begin work. It will settle into a steady charge as you carry out your assignment.

When the job is done, the feeling may subside as he puts the equipment back in his tool box. Or it may last a while, like a “job well done” from the Holy Spirit. Don’t be sad if it goes, enjoy it if it lingers.

The Apostle Paul: “And I thank Christ Jesus, our Lord, who hath enabled me, in that he counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry…” I Timothy 1:12 KJV

 

3 thoughts on “The Anointing

  1. Pingback: Work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. Really? | Esther's Petition

  2. Pingback: Grace, one definition | Esther's Petition

  3. Bette, thanks for sharing this post. I appreciate how you describe the anointing and empowering in such a personal way. As a pastor, it is only the anointing that gives me the strength to get up each Sunday and preach God’s Word.

    Like

Leave a Reply

